Log in

Fox's Dunn Elected DEG Chair

17 Aug, 2016 By: John Latchem

DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group Aug. 17 announced its new board of directors for the 2016-17 fiscal year (Aug. 1 to July 31), as selected by the trade group’s member companies.

Mike Dunn, president of 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, has been upped to chair, having previously served as vice chair. Matt Strauss, EVP and GM of Video Services for Comcast Cable, will serve as the new vice chair. Sofia Chang, EVP of worldwide digital distribution and home entertainment for HBO, will continue as CFO.  Mike Fasulo, president and CEO of Sony Electronics, will continue as secretary. Secretary                                                                                      

In recognition of his tenure and contribution as former chair, the board appointed Ron Sanders, president of Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment Distribution, to serve as Ex-Officio.

Officers of the board are responsible for providing leadership and oversight of the DEG’s agenda and are elected to two-year terms.

New to the Board are Cinedigm president Bill Sondheim; Ron Geller, VP worldwide content relations for Dolby Laboratories; Jeffrey Lawrence, GM and senior executive director of global content policy, standards and content protection services for Intel; and Jim Kiczek, VP of product marketing for digital video and audio products for Samsung Electronics.

“We are delighted with the enthusiastic response we received from our diverse membership who were interested in board participation,” said DEG president Amy Jo Smith. “The DEG board of directors is reflective of the evolving landscape of the home entertainment industry.  We are extremely grateful for Ron Sanders’ tenure as chair and, likewise, are pleased to welcome Mike Dunn as chair and Matt Strauss as vice chair.”

Other board members include Jonathan Zepp, head of North American content partnerships for YouTube and Google Play Movies; Tim Alessi, director of new product development for LG Electronics USA; Ron Schwartz, president of home entertainment for Lionsgate; Martin Sacchi, GM of business development for the Microsoft media and entertainment group; Bob Buchi, worldwide president for Paramount Home Media Distribution; Marty Gordon, VP of strategic partnerships and alliances for Philips Electronics; Darren Stupak, EVP of U.S. sales and distribution for Sony Music Entertainment; Jim Belcher, VP of technology and production global digital services for Universal Music Group; Eddie Cunningham, president of Universal Pictures Worldwide Home Entertainment; Dan Cohen, EVP of pay television and digital for Disney/ABC Home Entertainment and Television Distribution; and Howie Singer, SVP and chief strategic technologist for Warner Music Group.

The DEG also announced a change in leadership of its communications committee.  For the coming fiscal year, the committee will be chaired by James Finn, EVP of corporate and marketing communications for 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment and Fox Innovation Lab. Liz West, VP of publicity for Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment, will serve as vice chair.


Add Comment