Log in

Disney Slates 'Thor' Sequel for Disc Feb. 25, Digitally Feb. 4

7 Jan, 2014 By: John Latchem

Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment will release Marvel Studios’ Thor: The Dark World digitally Feb. 4 and on disc Feb. 25.

The eighth installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe cycle of films featuring characters from The Avengers, and a follow-up to 2011’s Thor, Dark World’s story finds the superhero Thor (Chris Hemsworth) teaming with his brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), to protect Earth and the Nine Realms against the threat of the vengeful dark elf Malekith (Christopher Eccleston). The film also stars Natalie Portman, Anthony Hopkins, Kat Dennings, Stellan Skarsgård, Idris Elba, Jaimie Alexander and Rene Russo.

The most successful MCU film not featuring Iron Man, Thor: The Dark World grossed more than $203 million at the domestic box office and $630 million worldwide.

The Feb. 4 digital release will be offered in 3D and HD formats. The Feb. 25 disc releases include a $39.99 3D Blu-ray combo pack (with 2D Blu-ray and digital copy), a $32.99 single-disc Blu-ray and a $29.99 DVD. The film will also be available on demand starting Feb. 25.

Extras include deleted and extended scenes; a gag reel; the 30-minute featurette “A Brothers’ Journey: Thor & Loki”; a featurette about the film’s music and composer Brian Tyler; audio commentary with director Alan Taylor, producer Kevin Feige, cinematographer Kramer Morgenthau and Hiddleston; and a preview of the next MCU film, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, in theaters April 4.


About the Author: John Latchem

Bookmark it:
Add Comment