Log in

Next Wave of Disney Animated Blu-rays Coming Out June 11

28 Mar, 2013 By: John Latchem

Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment will bring three more of its animated hits to Blu-ray Disc June 11.

The release of 2000’s The Emperor’s New Groove, 2001’s Atlantis: The Lost Empire and 2002’s Lilo & Stitch will mean that 35 of the 52 films in the Walt Disney Animation Studios canon will have been released in high-definition.

The celebrated list of Disney animated features began in 1937 with Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. The 52nd and most recent addition, Wreck-It Ralph, was released last year.

Groove, Atlantis and Lilo will be released as two-movie combo packs containing both the original film and its direct-to-video sequel on both Blu-ray and DVD. Each two-movie collection is listed at $29.99.

Emperor’s New Groove features the voices of David Spade as Emperor Kuzco, who gets turned into a llama by his sinister advisor, Yzma (Eartha Kitt), and her henchman, Kronk (Patrick Warburton), and must turn to the help of a peasant named Pasha (John Goodman) to save the kingdom.

Atlantis: The Lost Empire tells the story of adventurer Milo (Michael J. Fox) and his quest to find the underwater kingdom of Atlantis.

In Lilo & Stitch, a lonely little girl in Hawaii finds her world turned upside down when she befriends a wild alien.

The sequels include 2003’s Atlantis: Milo’s Return as well as 2005’s Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch and Kronk’s New Groove.

The 17 Disney animated features still awaiting a Blu-ray release include 1943’s Saludos Amigos, 1945’s The Three
, 1946’s Make Mine Music, 1947’s Fun and Fancy Free, 1948’s Melody Time, 1949’s The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad, 1961’s 101 Dalmatians, 1963’s The Sword in the Stone, 1967’s The Jungle Book, 1973’s Robin Hood, 1977’s The Many
Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
, 1985’s The Black Cauldron, 1987’s Oliver and Company, 1989’s The Little Mermaid, 1992’s Aladdin, 1997’s Hercules and 1999’s Tarzan.

Little Mermaid is slated for a “Diamond Edition” Blu-ray release later this year.

About the Author: John Latchem

Bookmark it:
Add Comment