Home Media Magazine » Opinions » Web Chatter
Font Size: A A A
Web Chatter

Opinions - Web Chatter

Web-exclusive opinion pieces from the Home Media Magazine staff.


Erik Gruenwedel


Blockbuster Seeks Upbeat Theme

April 01, 2009
By : Erik Gruenwedel
Web Chatter

Is Blockbuster removing all of its "sad and depressing" titles?


Erik Gruenwedel


Reaching the Summit

March 23, 2009
By : Erik Gruenwedel
Web Chatter

You know times are good when your No. 1 DVD release impacts your No. 1 theatrical release and you still win. That’s the dilemma Summit Entertainment found itself in over the March 22 weekend as the home video release of Twilight lived up to hype, selling 3 million units in 24 hours.



Deleted Scenes is Just the Latest Video-Inspired Band

March 13, 2009
By : Billy Gil
Web Chatter

During my daily perusal of the newly redesigned music site pitchfork.com, I saw an album review by a band whose name caught my eye for obvious reasons: Deleted Scenes.


Stephanie Prange


I’m Seeing Red

March 11, 2009
By : Stephanie Prange
Web Chatter

In all the analyst hoopla over Blockbuster possibly filing Chapter 11 and the ensuing, wrong-headed declarations of the end of packaged media, I’m seeing red — as in Redbox and Netflix.


Erik Gruenwedel


Piracy Lurks Larger

February 26, 2009
By : Erik Gruenwedel
Web Chatter

While the industry and market wring their hands regarding the economy and downturn in packaged media sales, piracy and illegal file sharing of Hollywood movies and network television shows proliferate.



DVD Isn’t a Problem at Marvel and DreamWorks

February 24, 2009
By : Stephanie Prange
Web Chatter

The hits are still selling well on disc. It’s the catalog business that has fallen off at the big studios — that and individual titles that don’t measure up to the hits of the previous year.


Stephanie Prange


Disney’s Troubles More About Titles and the Economy Than Blu-ray or DVD

February 11, 2009
By : Stephanie Prange
Web Chatter

Comments about the demise of disc have to be taken with a grain of salt.


Thomas K. Arnold


Feelin’ Blu Over Disc Issues

February 10, 2009
By : Thomas K. Arnold
Web Chatter

Blu-ray Disc was soaring in popularity in the Arnold household, with the three boys telling me as recently as December that they no longer want to watch DVD.


Stephanie Prange


3-D Gives Me a Headache, But Maybe I’m Just Old

February 09, 2009
By : Stephanie Prange
Web Chatter

I’ve long said the glasses are the biggest impediment to 3-D viewing, but another is the headache that ensues from watching an entire feature with glasses.


Stephanie Prange


Get Real — People Are Still Buying Discs

February 06, 2009
By : Stephanie Prange
Web Chatter

Whenever I hear analysts or techno-nerds dump on DVD and Blu-ray Disc, I like to take a trip to Target. Plenty of people are doing just that, with several titles out of stock.






NEWSLETTER

Sign up for our Daily newsletter to receive breaking entertainment news and other features.

POLL

When all is said and done, what will be the top grossing movie of 2009?

Submit Vote
- OR -
Click here to view results

SEND US

Send us video clips of home entertainment industry events and parties