Log in

VSDA's iGroup Forms Committees, Appoints Staff

3 May, 2004 By: Jessica Wolf

The newly formed independent retailer–dedicated arm of the Video Software Dealers Association (VSDA) — iGroup — is shaping up in earnest.

This week, the VSDA iGroup announced the formation of iGroup's Bylaws/Elections and Finance committees, and appointed several staff positions.

Serving on iGroup's Bylaws/Election Committee is Mick Blanken (chair) from Superhitz Moviez & Gamez in Delaware, Ohio; Tom Paine of Video Factory in Redmond, Wash., and Terri Schumacher from Video Village Etc. in Mt. Vernon, Iowa.

The iGroup's Finance Committee is comprised of Jim Loperfido (chair) from Emerald City Video in Auburn, N.Y.; Richard Rostenberg from Hollywood Video at Home in Overland Park, Kan.; Eric Smith with 1st Run Video in Havelock, N.C., and Todd Zaganiacz from Video Zone in South Deerfield, Mass.

VSDA staffers newly named to the indie group include Nancy Gordon, who will serve as manager of operations and special projects for iGroup; Douglas Johnson, manager member communications; Jennifer Lane, manager, member support; and Faulkner Wright, manager member services. All four support positions will report to iGroup director Frank Lucca, appointed last month.

“We looked at hiring from outside the VSDA staff,” Lucca said. “But it was clear that we already had the best talent available … By using persons who are already familiar with iGroup, its members, and its planned operations, we can implement our programs for IVRs in the most expeditious manner.”

iGroup and members are planning the formal launch of the indie-centric organization at July's Home Entertainment 2004 Convention in Las Vegas.

Add Comment