States Act to Limit ‘Drive-By Porn'31 May, 2005 By: Holly J. Wagner
The Michigan Legislature is expected to pass a bill that would outlaw watching porn on car DVD players in the view of others, becoming the third state to do so.
Aimed at protecting children from obscene material, the bill would fine a motorist $1,500 for a first offense, $5,000 for a second offense, and the third time could get the offending motorist up to a $10,000 fine and 93 days in jail. The law would apply if people outside of, but within 100 feet of, a vehicle could see or hear porn playing inside.
A similar law in Tennessee, the first state to pass such a law, took effect last July, but fines there range from a mere $2 to $50.
Louisiana's law took effect last August. It carries penalties of $500 and up to six months in jail for a first offense, $1,000 and up to a year in jail for a second offense and repeat offenders must register with the state as sex offenders.
Oklahoma and California have so far rejected such bills, but legislators have vowed to revive them as onboard players get more common.
The measure California's Assembly rejected in March would have imposed a maximum fine of $500 and up to six months in jail; Oklahoma's would have carried a $500 fine for violators.