Log in

Parental Watchdog Groups Honors <I>Shrek</I>

6 May, 2002 By: Hive News

Shrek has garnered yet another award as the winner of the Santa Fe-based Coalition for Quality Children's Media's (CQCM) Kids First! Best Children's Film, Video, or DVD of the Year Award.

The watchdog CQCM bestows awards in five age categories.

This year's winners are:

For ages 0 to 2: Baby Genius: Four Seasons (Genius Productions/Warner)

For ages 2 to 6: Bear in the Big Blue House: Early to Bed (Jim Henson Productions/Columbia TriStar)

For ages 7 to 12: Shrek (Dreamworks)

For ages 12 to 15: Princess Diaries (Walt Disney/Buena Vista)

The winners of the Kids First Best Children's Film, Video or DVD of the Year Award are selected kids across the nation using online voting.

Kids First! Established the award in 2001 to honor media that are nonviolent and nonbiased but also engage a child's imagination; stimulate curiosity and creativity; respect cultural diversity; and challenge kids to think, reason, and ask questions.

More than 3,500 children nationwide have helped select these winners. A list of 20

Finalists and 47 semi-finalists is available upon request on the Kids First! Web site: kidsfirstinternet.org.

Last year's winners were Dreamworks' Chicken Run for 6- to 12-year-olds, and Paramount's Blue's Big Musical Movie for 2- to 6-year-olds. Two age categories were added for this year's award, ages 0-2 and 12-15.

Add Comment