Log in

Hitachi, GoodTimes, HP Join the DEG

7 Jul, 2004 By: Jessica Wolf

DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group welcomed three new members last week: GoodTimes Entertainment, Hitachi and Hewlett-Packard, the first IT company to join the trade association's 35 member companies.

The DEG also elected a new board of directors and re-elected its executive committee.

Buena Vista Home Entertainment president Bob Chapek, who has overseen the group's evolution to a broader digital entertainment focus, will serve as DEG president for the third consecutive year, after taking over the presidency during the 2001/2002 year from Warner Home Video's Steve Nickerson who departed for an overseas assignment.

Mike Fidler, Sony Electronics' SVP of home products, will serve as VP of the trade group, replacing Joe Stinziano, also from Sony. DreamWorks Home Entertainment's head of worldwide operations, Sanford Friedman, and New Line Home Entertainment president and COO Stephen Einhorn were re-elected as DEG CFO and secretary, respectively.

DEG board members include Marshall Forster, EVP, North America for Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment; Thomas Sasaki, manager VCR/DVD, consumer video division, JVC Co. of America; David Bishop, president and COO of MGM Home Entertainment; Reid Sullivan, VP of entertainment group for Panasonic Consumer Electronics; Gary Bauhard, director of marketing for Pioneer Electronics; Tom Lesinski, president of Paramount Pictures Worldwide Home Entertainment; John Town, SVP of research and development for Thomson; Jodi Sally, assistant VP for Toshiba America; Peter Staddon, SVP, marketing for 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment; Paul Bishow, VP of marketing, new formats for Universal Music Group; Craig Kornblau, president of Universal Studios Home Video and Jim Cardwell, president of Warner Home Video.

Add Comment