Log in

2006 VSDA Award Winners Announced

12 Jul, 2006 By: Jessica Wolf

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Lost, sunk or crashed, this year's Home Entertainment Award winners run the DVD entertainment gamut.

The Entertainment Merchants Association presented its annual awards Tuesday night in Las Vegas with the DVDs Lost: The Complete First Season, Titanic: Special Collector's Edition, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Crash and Madagascar each snagging multiple honors.

Buena Vista Home Entertainment's first season of “Lost” on DVD grabbed technical awards for Best Commentary and Best Overall Presentation for TV releases. Paramount Home Entertainment's elaborate Titanic: Special Collector's Edition picked up Best Video Transfer From a Non-Digital Source and Best Supplementary Material.

Warner Home Video's Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire two-disc special-edition DVD won DVD Extras of the Year and Sellthrough Title of the Year from a Major Studio. Lionsgate Entertainment's Crash earned awards for Best Marketing Campaign and Sellthrough Title of the Year from an Independent Studio. DreamWorks Home Entertainment's Madagascar was named Children's Title of the Year and Family Title of the Year from a Major Studio.

“This year's are the most diverse selection of titles to date,” said EMA president Bo Andersen. “The DVDs available today feature unprecedented visual and audio quality as well as interactivity and special features for the die-hard movie fan.”

Other winners include Fox's Sideways for Sleeper of the Year, Warner's March of the Penguins for Documentary Title of the Year, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment's House of Flying Daggers for Best Foreign-Language Title, and Madden NFL 06 for best GameCube and PS2 game.

The EMA also inducted the classic high-school musical Grease into the Video Hall of Fame.

Stars Mehcad Brooks, Edward Burns, Roger Corman, Carmen Electra and Peter Falk were on hand to pick up their various awards from the association, sharing the stage with host Bob Saget and this year's slate of retailer of the year honorees.

Three single-store retailers earned the George Atkinson Award, in honor of the eponymous industry founder '' Movie Merchants in Sonoma, Calif.; Video Quest in Joliet, Ill.; and Video Zone in South Deerfield, Mass.

In the two-to-four-store category, the winner was The People's Choice Video Express, Waukegan, Ill. Bridgewater, Va.-based Backstage Video was the winner in the five-or-more stories field.

This year's iDEA Chairman's Award, which goes to a particularly innovative indie, went to Digital Dogpound in Evansdale Iowa.

Entertainment Specialist of the year is Richmond, Va.-based Circuit City. Nontraditional Retailer of the Year is BMG Columbia House in New York.

Amazon.com was named Online Retailer of the Year. Fellow Web service Netflix was honored as Rental Specialist of the Year (public companies or chains with 100 or more stores).

Add Comment