Log in

Netflix Women’s Prison Dramedy to Bow July 11

30 Apr, 2013 By: Erik Gruenwedel

Netflix April 30 said it will launch all 13 episodes of its fourth original series, “Orange Is the New Black,” on July 11 in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Latin America, Brazil and Scandinavia.

Created by Jenji Kohan ("Weeds") and Lionsgate Television, the comedic drama starring Taylor Schilling (The Lucky One) is set in a women's prison and based on the U.S. best-selling memoir by Piper Kerman.

"Orange" follows engaged Brooklynite Piper Chapman (Schilling), whose decade-old relationship with drug-runner Alex (Laura Prepon) results in her arrest and yearlong detention in a federal penitentiary.

To pay her debt to society, Piper must trade her comfy New York life with fiancé Larry (Jason Biggs) for an orange prison jumpsuit and a baffling prison culture, where she is forced to question everything she believes and form new, unexpected alliances with a group of eccentric and outspoken inmates.

The series' ensemble cast includes Kate Mulgrew, Natasha Lyonne, Pablo Schreiber, Danielle Brooks, Laverne Cox and Taryn Manning.

“Jenji is one of the most fearless voices in television and we are proud to share her uncompromising vision with [our subscribers],” Ted Sarandos, chief content officer with Netflix, said in a statement.


Add Comment