Log in

AT&T Ups Download Speed in 40 Markets

26 Aug, 2013 By: Erik Gruenwedel

AT&T U-verse now offers 45 Mbps download speed in 15 states

AT&T U-verse Aug. 26 said it has rolled out faster broadband connectivity in 40 markets across 15 states.

Dubbed U-verse Power, the company reports that the new high-speed Internet service offers up to 45 Mbps download speed and 6 Mbps upload speed.

The expansion is part of AT&T’s three-year plan to expand and enhance its IP broadband networks. AT&T in the future is attempting to upgrade top tier U-verse speeds to 100 Mbps.

U-verse Power is available to eligible residential customers from $49.95 per month. Current, eligible U-verse Internet residential customers can upgrade their package and receive $10 off their bill for 12 months.

In markets not yet able to deliver AT&T U-verse Power, the top U-verse bit rate is 18 Mbps. U-verse Internet packages include access to more than 32,000 wireless hot spots nationwide.

With the advent of subscription video-on-demand, download speeds increasingly act as competitive advantages for multichannel video program distributors. Netflix has made ISP speed a monthly competition by ranking the fastest ISPs delivering streaming its service.

Indeed, AT&T U-verse ranked 11th in July among ISPs streaming Netflix with an average bit rate of 1.90 Mbps. The fastest was Google Fiber with 3.93 Mbps on average.

As noted above, rising ISP download speeds translate into higher monthly fees for subscribers — above the current average around $30 per month. Indeed, Google Fiber, which is only available in select markets, costs about $120 monthly for the premium download speed and live TV access; and around $70 just for Internet.

AT&T Power markets include: Birmingham, Ala.; Huntsville-Decatur-Florence, Ala.; Mobile, Ala.; Hartford, Conn.; New Haven, Conn.; Jacksonville, Fla.; Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.; Orlando; West Palm Beach-Ft. Pierce, Fla.; Atlanta; Champaign, Ill.; Chicago; Indianapolis, Ind.; South Bend-Elkhart, Ind.; Louisville, Ky.; Baton Rouge, La.; New Orleans; Detroit; Flint-Saginaw, Mich.; Grand Rapids, Mich.; Lansing, Mich.; Biloxi-Gulfport, Miss.; Jackson, Miss.; Charlotte, N.C.; Greensboro-High Point-Winston Salem, N.C.; Raleigh, N.C.; Cleveland; Columbus, Ohio; Dayton, Ohio; Toledo, Ohio; Charleston, S.C.; Columbia, S.C.; Greenville, S.C.; Chattanooga, Tenn.; Knoxville, Tenn.; Memphis, Tenn.; Nashville, Tenn.; Green Bay-Appleton, Wis.; Madison, Wis.; and Milwaukee.

Add Comment